Alaska Notary FAQs
What are the requirements to become an Alaska notary?
To become a notary in Alaska, you must:
- Be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident
- Be a permanent Alaska resident
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a $2,500 surety bond
- Have a signed and notarized oath of office
- Within 10 years of application:
- Have no felony convictions involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit
- Have never had a denial, revocation, suspension, restriction or resignation of a notarial commission in Alaska or any other state or nation
Why was my Alaska notary application rejected?
These are some common reasons why a notary application can be rejected:
- The name of the applicant on the application is not the exact same name found on the bond
- The application was not properly notarized by a current Alaska notary in good standing
- The application did not include a signed and notarized oath of office
- Payment for the $40 state application fee was not enclosed
Do I need to take an exam to become an Alaska notary?
No. However, our online notary package includes a general notary course to help you understand your duties.
Do I need a notary bond in Alaska?
Yes. Alaska requires a $2,500 notary bond for both new and renewing commissions. Our Alaska notary package includes a bond as well as everything else you need to become a notary!
Can I submit an Alaska notary application online?
Yes. View all application details here.
Does Alaska require a notary journal?
Yes. That's why we include a notary record-keeping journal in our complete notary package.
Does Alaska require a notary stamp?
Yes. We include a self-inking stamp that meets or exceeds state requirements in our complete notary package. Choose a self-inking notary stamp that comes in your choice of 12 colors.
How long is an Alaska notary commission valid?
Alaska notary commissions last for four (4) years. When it's time to renew, remember that commissions cannot be backdated. If you have a current commission that is about to expire and you'd like your next commission to expire on the same month and day as your current one, you must submit your application about one month before your current commission expires.
If you submit an application a month or more before your current commission expires, the state will hold your application until 30 days prior to the expiration of your current commission.
The process of renewing your commission is the same as earning a new commission. That means you will need to submit a new bond with your application and pay the application fee again.
If you have any more questions, please reach out to the Alaska Notary Administrator by calling 907-465-3509 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.