Notary Fees August 29, 2019 / Notary Association of America
You may have become a notary for various reasons, be it for work, to act as a mobile notary, help your local community or to earn extra income. No matter the reason, there are limits to what you can legally charge as a notary. As a public official and in your capacity as a Notary, the fees that you collect are considered income to you.
Notary fees that you can charge are normally outlined in your state's notary statutes. Common fees allowable range anywhere from $1 to $20 per signature. If you are notarizing documents for loan or mortgage closings, the fees can range much higher. As a mobile notary or signing agent, it is customary and commonplace to charge for your mileage and time. However, the mileage charged cannot be above the current IRS standard mileage rate, which for 2019 is 58 cents per mile. Also, keep in mind that charging for your time, though not regulated by most states, needs to be reasonable.
Below is a sample of several states and the fees you may charge in 2019. Unless otherwise noted, the fee listed is per signature. These fees are for Acknowledgements, Jurats and Oaths or Affirmations:
- Arizona: $2
- California: $10
- Florida: $10. Also, in Florida, a Notary can solemnize a marriage and may charge $30 for that notarial act.
- Illinois: $1
- Indiana: $2
- Kansas: Notaries in this state may set their fees if they are "reasonable"
- Michigan: $10
- Missouri: $2
- Pennsylvania: $5
- Texas: $6
- Washington: $10
As a notary, it is always advisable to check with your state's notary website on an annual basis since fees may change. You can easily do so by entering your state and "notary fees" in your preferred search engine. For example, you could search "Florida Notary Fees" and look for the state's website to get the latest information on allowable fees.