Nevada Notary FAQs
What are the requirements to become a Nevada notary?
In order to become a Notary in Nevada, you must:
- Be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident
- Be a legal Nevada resident (or a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed in Nevada)
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have no felony convictions
- Complete online notary training and pass an exam
- Have never had your notary commission revoked in another state
Why was my Nevada notary application rejected?
These are some common reasons why a notary application can be rejected:
- The name of the applicant on the application is not the exact same name that is on the bond
- There was no $35 filing fee or $45 training payment included in the application
- You used a digital signature instead of printing and signing your notary application by hand
- You did not pass the state notary exam
Do I need to take an exam to become a Nevada notary?
Yes.You must also complete a training course to unlock the exam. Click here to learn more about the course and exam.
Do I need a notary bond in Nevada?
Yes. Nevada requires a $10,000 notary bond for both new and renewing commissions. Our Nevada notary package includes a bond as well as everything else you need to become a notary!
Can I submit a Nevada notary application online?
Yes. Visit this website and follow the detailed instructions included with our notary package.
Do I Need to Live in Nevada to Be a Notary?
Residents of an adjoining state can become a “non-resident notary” in Nevada if they are regularly employed within the state. Adjoining states are California, Oregon, Utah, Idaho and Arizona.
If you are employed within the state, you need to submit two affidavits. The “Non-resident Notary Public Affidavit” and the “Affidavit of Applicant's Employer.”
If you are self-employed, you need to submit the “Non-resident Notary Public Affidavit” and the “Affidavit of Self-Employer Applicant.”
You also need to provide a copy of your employer’s Nevada State Business license.
Does Nevada require a notary journal?
Yes, that’s why we include a notary record keeping journal in our complete notary package.
Does Nevada require a notary stamp?
Yes. A self-inking notary stamp that meets and exceeds state requirements is included in our complete notary package. All our packages include a self-inking notary stamp in your choice of 12 colors.
How long is a Nevada notary commission valid?
Nevada notary commissions last for four (4) years. A renewal application may be submitted no earlier than six weeks before the current commission’s expiration date.
The commission renewal process is the same as a new commission, but you must check “renewal” in the application. Renewals need new bonds with their application and must submit the application fee again.