New Mexico Notary FAQs
What are the Requirements to Become a Notary Public in New Mexico?
To become a notary in New Mexico you must:
- Be a resident of New Mexico
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be able to read and write in English
What Disqualifies You from Becoming a New Mexico Notary Public?
- A past felony conviction
- A past guilty or nolo contendere plea related to a felony
- Having a notary public commission revoked within the past five years
How Do I Become a New Mexico Notary?
After you confirm that you meet all state requirements, purchase the New Mexico Notary Package from Notaries.com. The package includes your state-required $10,000 notary bond, a custom notary stamp and the state application fee.
You will then fill out the state application and take your notarial oath in front of a New Mexico notary public. Once your application has been submitted, you must be approved and appointed by the Secretary of State.
Read our step-by-step guide to becoming a New Mexico notary, which provides in-depth details on the entire application process.
What Do I Need to Include with My New Mexico Notary Application?
Your state notary application must include the following:
- Your name exactly as it appears on your application, bond, and notary stamp
- The signature of two New Mexico residents who can attest to your good moral character
- The seal of a New Mexico notary who will administer your notarial oath and notarize your signature
- An impression of your notary stamp (we will imprint it on your application in the correct location)
- A $10,000 surety bond with your signature
Your notary application must be completed in black ink with no background colors of any kind.
How Long Will My New Mexico Notary Commission Be Valid?
Your notary commission is valid for four years. You will receive a notice of your term’s upcoming expiration from the Secretary of State one month before your commission expires.
If you wish to renew your notary commission, you will need to repeat the same application process that you completed when obtaining your original commission. For your renewal, you must list your commission number and expiration date on your application.
Do I Need a $10,000 Notary Bond?
Yes, New Mexico requires notary applicants to post a notary surety bond of $10,000. The notary bond is valid for your entire four-year term and protects the public from any mistakes or misconduct that may become associated with you during your time as a notary.
Do I Need Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
New Mexico does not require notaries to purchase errors and omissions insurance, but it is highly encouraged. In the event that a lawsuit is filed against you for an alleged mistake or omission, your E&O insurance will protect you up to the amount of coverage that you purchased. Without E&O insurance, you are personally liable for any legal fees or damages.
Do I Need a Notary Journal?
You are not required by law to keep a journal of your notarizations. However, New Mexico highly recommends that you keep a journal of your notarial acts, including the date, type of document, and the name and signature of the person whose signature you notarized.
What Are the Requirements for My New Mexico Notary Stamp?
We will manufacture your notary stamp according to state requirements and imprint it on your application.
Your rubber stamp or seal will feature:
- Your name exactly as it appears on your application
- The official State of New Mexico seal
- The words "Notary Public — State of New Mexico"
- A blank space to write in your commission expiration date
New Mexico does not allow round notary stamps. The stamp you will receive from Notaries.com complies with all state requirements — and it’s available in your choice of 12 colors.