How to Become an Arkansas Notary

This step-by-step guide walks you through the process of becoming a notary in Arkansas.

Along with the bond, our notary package includes detailed application instructions that guide you through this process.

1) Meet State of Arkansas Notary Requirements to be a Notary Public

In order to become a Notary in Arkansas, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident
  • Be a legal Arkansas resident (or a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed or operating a business in Arkansas)
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have no felony convictions
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Have reviewed notary law and understands the duties of a notary public (see step #3)

2) Purchase a Notary Bond

All Arkansas notaries require a $7,500 notary bond. The state does not provide these bonds, but one is included with the notary package available on Be sure to pick a name for your surety bond that you want to appear on your self-inking notary stamp.

After purchase, your notary bond will print along with a page of detailed application instructions.

3) Complete An Online Exam

Before submitting an application, you must create a free Notary Management System Account and then take a multiple-choice exam.

The exam has 30 questions, and you need to get 24 correct to pass. Review the Arkansas notary study material to pass on your first try!

4) Fill Out the State Application

When you purchase our notary package, we fill out a copy of the state application with the information you provided then email it to you.

You can then print the pre-filled application, print and sign your name on the application exactly as it is printed and signed on your surety bond, then have the completed application notarized by a notary in good standing in the state of Arkansas.

5) Submit Application

Your application must include:

  • A printed and signed application
  • A copy of the notary bond - make sure the name on the application is the exact same as the name used on your notary bond
  • An official signature by a notary in good standing in the state of Arkansas
  • A $20 check made payable to the Arkansas Secretary of State for the notary filing fee. The fee is only payable by check; we do not collect the state fee from you when you purchase the notary package.

Once ready, submit your completed notary application packet directly to:

Arkansas Secretary of State
Business and Commercial Services Division
1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72201

6) Complete the Notary Commission Certificate Process

After you’ve submitted your application to the state, it may take up to six weeks for you to receive your Notary Commission Certificate.

Once your application is approved by the Secretary of State, they will send you two (2) oath of commission certificates. Review them to confirm your name and county of commission is correct. Contact the Secretary of State’s Office immediately if any of the printed informationis incorrect.

Take both oaths of commission certificates and the original bond to your county commission’s recorder of deeds. The circuit (or county) clerk will then record one of the certificates and you return one of the completed oaths of commission certificates to the Secretary of State. Your commission is not valid until you file the completed oath of commission with both the county recorder of deeds and the Secretary of State.

Once received by the state, they issue your Certificate of Commission and identification card.

7) Receive Your Notary Stamp

The state of Arkansas requires all Arkansas Notaries to have a notary stamp but does not provide them directly. Our notary package includes a self-inking notary stamp.

This stamp includes:

  • Your name as it appears on the application and bond
  • The name of the county you’re commissioned in
  • The notary commission expiration date*

*Because the expiration date is required, we cannot manufacture your notary stamp until you’ve received your Notary Commission Certificate with your expiration date listed on it.

When you receive your Notary Commission Certificate from the state, you must forward an emailed copy or scan and email a copy to

NOTE: The state requires that we receive a copy of your Notary Commission Certificate before we can manufacture your stamp. In order to receive your stamp from us, remember to forward an email or scanned copy of your certificate to

We will then manufacture your notary stamp that will meet or exceed state specifications and promptly ship it to you.

The state of Arkansas strongly recommends all notaries to keep a journal of their work. That’s why we include a notary record keeping journal in our complete notary package.