Arkansas Notary FAQs
What are the requirements to become an Arkansas notary?
In order to become a Notary in Arkansas, you must:
- Be a United States citizen or legal permanent resident
- Be a legal Arkansas resident (or a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed or operating a business in Arkansas)
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have no felony convictions
- Be able to read and write English
- Have reviewed notary law and understand the duties of a notary public
Why was my Arkansas notary application rejected?
These are some common reasons why a notary application can be rejected:
- The name of the applicant on the application is not the exact same name that is on the bond.
- The application was not properly notarized by a current Arkansas notary in good standing.
- There was no $20 application fee enclosed.
Do I need to take an exam to become an Arkansas notary?
Yes. Arkansas requires all new and renewing notaries to complete an online exam before they are allowed to access the new or renewal application. The exam contains 30 questions and 24 must be answered correctly to pass.
Arkansas provides online study materials that cover everything on the exam.
Do I need a notary bond in Arkansas?
Yes. Arkansas requires a $7,500 surety bond for both new and renewing commissions. Our Arkansas notary package includes a bond as well as everything else you need to become a notary!
Can I submit an Arkansas notary application online?
No. While Arkansas has an online notary management system, applications must be printed, signed and notarized, then delivered by mail or in-person to:
1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72201
300 North College, Suite 201F
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Does Arkansas require a notary journal?
Not by law, but it is highly recommended by the state as a way to help record all notarial acts in case you ever need to testify in court. That’s why we include a notary record keeping journal in our complete notary package.
Does Arkansas require a notary stamp?
Yes, every notary in Arkansas must have a seal of office (self-inking notary stamp) that must use either blue or black ink. A self-inking notary stamp is included in our complete notary package.
Arkansas notaries renewing their commission must also order a new stamp with their new expiration date.
How long is an Arkansas notary commission valid?
Arkansas notary commissions last for 10 years. A renewal application may be submitted no earlier than 60 days before the current commission’s expiration date.
Expired commissions past the 60-day point require registering as a new notary again (instead of a renewal).
The commission renewal process is the same as a new commission but uses a different application. Renewals need new bonds with their application and must submit the application fee again.