How to Become a Texas Notary

Here is a step-by-step guide to become a notary in Texas. handles all of these requirements through our easy application, so rest-assured you have everything you need to become a notary!

1) Meet State of Texas Notary Requirements to be a Notary Public

In order to become a notary in the State of Texas you must:

  • Be at least 18-years old
  • Be a Texas resident
  • Have not committed a felony or crime involving moral depravity

2) Complete the Application

At you will fill out a notary application, purchase your notary bond and pre-order your stamp. As you follow the prompts at you will provide the information required for your state Notary Commission Application. Once you have made your payment you will be prompted to PRINT a copy of your application. The application is ONE page.

3) Submit Your Application to

Sign the one page application that you have printed from You may scan and email it to If you prefer to mail your notary application, please mail it to: (formerly Huckleberry Notary Bonding, Inc)
225 E Robinson St #570
Orlando, FL 32801

We still submit the application to the state for you, including the $21 filing fee.

4) Notarize your Notary Commission Certificate

Within 30 days after sending us your application, you'll receive your commission certificate from the Secretary of State in the email you listed on your application. Once you have this, you must go before a Texas notary and take the Oath of Office and have it notarized by someone other than yourself.

5) Wait for the arrival of your Custom Self-Inking Notary Stamp

The State of Texas requires all notaries to have a notary stamp. This stamp must contain the expiration date of the notary's commission and a current notary identification number issued by the state. Therefore, the stamp cannot be made until after a notary receives his or her notary commission from the state. After the state emails your notary commission certificate, we at will automatically make your stamp, which you will have pre-ordered, and send it to you within 10 days of receiving your commission. Texas requires all notaries to keep a journal of their activities.