Texas Notary FAQs
How long is my commission valid for?
Your Texas Notary Commission is valid for four-years.
How do I renew my commission?
Without an automatic renewal process, you must repeat the same steps as first-time notaries. This includes completing the Form 2301, purchasing a $10,000 surety bond, and acquiring a new seal.
When should I renew my commission?
You should begin the renewal process three months before your current commission expires.
Do I need to take any educational courses to become a Texas Notary?
No. There is no education required to become a Texas Notary. However, the state does offer training.
Am I eligible to become a Texas Notary?
If you are at least 18-years old, are a Texas Resident, and have not been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude, then you may become a Texas Notary. Additionally, if you are an escrow agent working in a state adjacent to Texas, you may also become a Texas Notary.
Do I need to submit my application to the state?
No. Just submit your application to us and we'll submit it to the state for you, including the $21 filing fee.
Do I need to send you my Notary Commission Certificate?
No. Once you receive your Notary Commission Certificate in your email, we will create your notary stamp and send it to you within 10 business days.
Do I need to pay the state filing fee?
No. Your state filing fee is included in the course cost.
Do I need the $10,000 bond?
Yes. The State of Texas requires all Texas Notaries to hold a $10,000 surety bond. This bond serves to protect the public, not the notary, from any mistakes the notary might make.
Do I need Errors & Omissions Insurance?
No. The State of Texas does not require Texas Notaries to hold Errors & Omissions insurance. However, it is highly recommended as it protects the notary against lawsuits.
Do I need the record keeping journal?
Yes. Texas requires all notaries to keep a record of their work. If you're renewing your notary commission, you do not need to purchase a new book unless yours is full.
When will I receive my Notary Commission Certificate?
Two weeks after your application is submitted to the Texas Secretary of State, you'll receive an email of your Texas Notary Commission.
Can I notarize my own certificate?
No. A current Texas Notary must notarize your commission. You must also take the Oath of Office before a current Texas Notary.
Why didn't I receive my Notary Stamp yet?
You will receive your notary stamp within 10 days of receiving your notary commission, as it cannot be made until the state as appointed you as notary.
How much does it cost to become a notary public in TX?
Our Texas Notary Package simplifies your notary application process and saves you money! For $88, the package includes:
- The required $10,000 surety bond
- A customized notary stamp
- The state filing fee
How long does it take to become a notary in Texas?
After you complete your application, it can take 30 days to receive your commission certification from the Texas Secretary of State and another 10 days to receive your customized notary stamp from us after we get a copy of your commission.
What is the processing time for notary applications in Texas?
The Texas Secretary of State says the normal processing time for non-expedited documents is 5 to 7 business days. Expedited service is available for $25 per document, and that usually means your documents will be processed by the end of the first business day following the date of receipt.
When is my notary commission valid?
Once you receive your notary commission certificate from the Texas Secretary of State and get your customized notary stamp from us, you can begin notarizing documents.
Can a non-resident become a notary in Texas?
No. Only legal Texas residents can become notaries in the state.
Can a Texas notary notarize a document from another state?
Yes, as long as the notarization act itself happens within the state.
Can a notary notarize documents for a family member in Texas?
It's not against the law, but it's not recommended. According to the Texas Secretary of State, "notarizations should not be performed by a notary public who is a party to the instrument or financially or beneficially interested in the transaction."
Can notaries notarize their own documents in TX?
No. A notary is supposed to be an impartial third party, and you can't be impartial to yourself!
Does a notarized document expire?
No. Once a document is notarized, that signature cannot expire.
Do notary stamps expire?
Yes. Notary stamps display the expiration date of your current notary commission. When the commission expires, so does the stamp.
I accidentally let my Texas notary commission expire. What can I do now?
If you want to continue being a notary public, you must not notarize anything until you renew your commission. If you don't want to be a notary anymore, Texas recommends destroying your seal to prevent "possible misuse by another individual."
Can a Texas notary notarize an electronic signature?
Yes, but you will need to satisfy additional state requirements to become a commissioned online notary. Any Texas notary with an online notary commission may perform an electronic notarization if it meets all the requirements of any other notarization. The signer must personally appear before the notary, and the electronic seal must include the same required elements as the physical seal.
What do I do if my business or home address has changed?
You must notify the Texas Secretary of State if your home or business address changes from what you included in your application. You can do this by mailing or faxing a form or submitting a request online!
How do I obtain a duplicate commission certificate?
The easiest way to get a duplicate notary commission certificate is to fill out this form online. But if you'd rather reach out to the Secretary of State directly, here is the contact informatiaon for the Notary Public Unit:
Phone: (512) 463-5705
Fax: (512) 463-5255